August 12, 2022

Almost two months after the SG elections wherein majority of the positions were declared vacant due to failure of elections, appointed officers took their oath during the Turnover and Year end Party at the CBEAM Building Function Hall, June 9.

The same electoral candidates for the executive council in the failed elections were appointed to the positions they vied for.

NEW EXECUTIVES. (L-R, upper row) Lanto, Medrano, Perez, Kalalo, Catapang, and Virtucio. (Lower row) Dimaculangan, Subagan, and Balmeo. (Photo courtesy of DLSL SG)


As stated in Article X Section 5 of the recently amended SG Constitution, in case of a failed election, “consultation shall take place among the incumbent Student Government Executive Council, the COMELEC and the Student Activities Office on the appropriate course of action to be taken.

Such an event happened last May 10, where appointees for the vacant positions were deliberated by former Executive President Serine Ann Obviar, former Executive Vice President Rashid Quddus, and former Executive Auditor Ivory Bermoy, SAO Officer Celeste Rubis, former Comelec Commissioner for CSO Zac de Guzman and former Comelec Chairperson Juan Antonio Magnaye.

According to Obviar, the initial decision was for executive council composed of the same candidates but for different positions.

Appeal, resolutions

However, the appointees did not accept the positions but filed a letter of appeal instead to have them appointed in the positions they vied for in the elections.

“We believe that it is right to stand for the position we are willing to commit our time and efforts with,” said the letter signed by the then-aspiring executive council.

It was also stated in the appeal letter that governors have already met their college councils and that a reshuffling of positions “may result to obscure the intentions of the whole council.”

According to Obviar, the said action prompted the drafting of Resolutions 001-18, 002-18, 003-18, which states that the appointees must be determined by the outgoing officers of the SG through nomination, wherein the student with the most number of nominations shall be appointed.

The said nomination then resulted to an executive council composed of the same set of electoral candidates in the failed elections.

As of presstime, 14 positions remain vacant and shall be decided by the new set of SG officers as per SG Resolution 002-18.


The appointees are as follows:

Executive Council

President: Christine Joy Perez

Vice-President: Ma. Kristine Gianne Kalalo

Secretary: Christel Anne Medrano

Treasurer: Timkhen Dimaculangan Lanto

Auditor: Mia Laura Catapang

PRO: Kenneth Axl Virtucio


College of Business, Economics, Accountancy, and Management Council

Governor: Ara Shayne Dimaculangan

Vice Governor – Internal: Julius Calingasan

Vice Governor – External: Cherrelyn Macasaet

Secretary: Eunice Tullao

Finance Manager: Angelica Guia

Auditor: Jana Aubrey Narral

Program Head Coordinators:

BSBA-MM: Reign Inanoria

BSBA-FM: Neiljhed Mabborang

BSBABE: Roselie Ramos

BSAT: Nhica Bituin

BSA: Precious Recede


College of Information Technology and Engineering Council

Governor: William Kyle Deveza

Vice Governor – Internal: VACANT

Vice Governor – External: Edrick Castillo

Secretary:  Mary Mharta Bernalyn  

Finance Manager: Eryl Justin Magahis

Auditor: Rhea Claire Malagamba

Program Head Coordinators:

BSCpE: Vanessa Barrion








College of Education, Arts, and Sciences Council

Governor: Anne Margaret Subagan

Vice Governor – Internal: Jelene Pasia

Vice Governor – External: Deian Pauline Endozo

Secretary: Alex Tuazon

Finance Manager: Nicole Matanguihan

Auditor: Searena Zuño

Program Head Coordinators:

ABCOMM: Jinsil Choi

BSPSYCH: Nica Mae Atienza

BSBIO: Marl Denver Beatriz

BSMMA: Abby Rachel Yutuc




College of International Hospitality and Tourism Management Council

Governor: Angela Balmeo

Vice Governor – Internal: VACANT

Vice Governor – External: VACANT

Secretary: Jomae Macatangay

Finance Manager: VACANT

Auditor: Jake Correa

Program Head Coordinators:  

BSHRM: Aliana Khate Cayton



College of Nursing Council

4th Year Representative: VACANT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *