June 13, 2024

The De La Salle Lipa Committee on Elections (Comelec) has released the official list of candidates for the 2018 Student Government Election with 48 candidates of the Alliance of Lasallian Youth Leaders (Alay) party list running for their respective positions without competition from any rival political party or independent candidates. 

The official list was released at the conclusion of the period of filing of candidacy last Feb. 28, which was extended twice from the previous deadlines of Feb. 16 and then Feb. 21.

Despite having no opponents, the candidates must garner more than 50 percent of the students’ votes to qualify for the positions.

The line-up

The candidates for the executive council are composed of Christine Joyce G. Perez running for president and Ma. Kristine Gianne D. Kalalo for vice president.

Christel Anne B. Medrano follows for the position of secretary, Timkhen R. Lanto for treasurer, Mia Laura Catapang for auditor and Kenneth Axl M. Virtucio for public relations officer.

Jessie James D. Llanes is running for the position of College of Information, Technology, and Engineering (CITE) governor, William Kyle A. Deveza for the position of CITE vice governor for internal and academic purposes, and Edrick G. Castillo for the position of CITE vice governor for external and public relations.

Mary Mharta Bernalyn B. Oronos is running for CITE secretary, Eryl Justin B. Magahis for finance manager and Rhea Claire S. Malagamba for Auditor.

Marc Neil A. Narvaez and Vanessa O. Barrion are running for program head coordinators of BS Information Technology and BS Computer Engineering, respectively.

Meanwhile, five program head coordinators for the CITE were left vacant, namely for BS Industrial Engineering, BS Electrical Engineering, BS Electronics Engineering, BS Computer Science and BS Information Systems.

For the College of Education, Arts and Sciences (CEAS), Anne Margarette E. Subagan is running for governor, while Jelene M. Pasia and Deian Pauline C. Endozo are running for vice governor for internal and academic purposes and vice governor for external and public relations respectively. 

The position for CEAS secretary remains vacant while Nicole L. Matanguihan has filed for the position of finance manager and Searena Niña P. Zuño for Auditor.

For the program head coordinators, Rachel I. Yutuc has filed for AB Multimedia Arts, Nica Mae M. Atienza for BS Psychology and Jinsil Choi for AB Communication. The position for program head coordinator for BS Biology and BS Education remain vacant. 

Meanwhile, the CBEAM Council has a complete set of candidates with Ara Shayne P. Dimaculangan for governor, Julius Christian B. Calingasan for vice governor for internal and academic purposes, and Cherrylyn P. Macasaet for vice governor for external and public relations.

Rollie Eunice O. Tullao has filed for the position of secretary, Angelica Lhane P. Guia for finance manager and Jana Aubrey R. Narral for auditor.

Eight candidates for program head coordinators were presented: Precious Angel M. Recede for BS A, Reign Rose L. Inanoria for BS Business Administration Major in Marketing Management, Nieljhed D. Mabborang for BS Business Administration Major in Financial Management, Roselie D. Ramos for BS Business Administration Business Economics, Nhica D. Bituin for BS Accounting Technology, Maecy D. Sarmiento for BS Legal Management, Olive Angela D. Cirio for BS Management Techonology and Shane Kirsten K. Mortega for BS Real Estate Management.

On the other hand, three slots were occupied in the College of International Hospitality and Tourism Management (CIHTM) council while positions for finance manager, auditor and two program head coordinators remain vacant.

Gemmalyn M. Deomampo is running for CIHTM governor, Angela Meryl V. Balmeo for vice governor for internal and academic purposes and Jomae C. Macatangay for secretary.

The candidates for the College of Nursing (CON) is headed by Amabel U. Cortez for governor, Raechelle Kaye P. Viela for vice governor for internal and academic purposes, and Patricia Gail R. Bonsol for vice governor for external and public relations.

Chrisiel R. Caraan is running secretary, Jorden M. Venturina for finance manager, and Frenches Andrea C. Magsino for auditor.

Rachelle Andrei Torres and Angeli Louise J. Villapando are running for program head coordinators for third and fourth years, respectively.

This year’s election

Incumbent SG Executive President Serine Obviar shared her opinion on the low turnout of candidates, compared to last year’s elections.

“Sometimes, students need a little push para sumali sila. One thing na natandaan ko na sinabi sa’kin noong tinanong ko ay natatakot daw sila mag-SG, and I think that’s something normal kaya kailangan i-convince na kaya nila,” she said.

Meawhile, Colemec Chairperson Juan Antonio Magnaye shared their plans to ensure the success of the upcoming elections.

“We’ll make sure na magiging maingay kami pagdating sa notifications and that the public or students will be well-aware na meron ngang elections na nangyayari and aware sila dun sa mga tumatakbo,” he said.

To fill in the vacant spaces for the other positions, Obviar said that it is in the Constitution to appoint such.

Magnaye added that in the event of failure of elections wherein less than 50 percent of student populations’ will vote, an appointment instead will rise as a likely option.

He said that they are also planning for an online election this year due to the low turnout of voters which was a concern of the past elections.

“Isang malaking bagay na naging dahilan kung bakit nagkaroon ng failed elections last year is yung mga nasa internship na ating mga kuya at ate, mga senior students natin. Since wala sila sa school and included sila sa denominator, yung total number ng boboto, naging malaking factor yun,” he said.

He also said that the online election is also a way to make voting faster and more convenient.

“Since nasa stage tayo ng pag-level up para digital campus, sinuggest ‘to ng SAO (Student Activities Office) na ‘yun, gawin ngang online [ang] elections,” he added.

The voting period is scheduled on April 16-20.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *